Be Right or Be Kind

Came across this quote this morning from a woman who has been a huge influence in my life; 
Anne Lamott

“You can either practice being right or practice being kind.”
― Anne Lamott
When it comes to shining a humorous and glaringly accurate light on family dynamics, Annie has literally written the book. The relationship between righteousness and kindness is, dare I say, incestuous.  Kindness is often preached more than taught.  Righteous kindness is an oxymoron. Sure, we can all wax philosophical on what kindness means and how it should be practiced.  But in the moment, when we are touting the importance of being kind, isn’t there a faint (or repugnant) smell of righteousness? And does that illicit kind reciprocity or righteous repulsion?

2 thoughts on “Be Right or Be Kind

  1. Aw, i thought this was quite a very good post. In concept I would like to devote writing such as this moreover – spending time and actual effort to produce a terrific article… but exactly what do I say… I procrastinate alot by no indicates manage to get something done. 813563

    • Hi there! I am so sorry I didn’t respond to you sooner. My comments have been going into my spam folder. Duh! Thanks for commenting. I appreciate hearing that what I say hits someone. Please keep coming back and I will promise to reply faster!

      Kindly,
      A

Join the conversation